Oslo Jazz Festival Orchestra

OSLO JAZZ FESTIVAL ORCHESTRA @ Oslo Jazz Festival 2016; Formed especially for the thirtieth anniversary of the Oslo Jazz Festival, this super group includes established musicians and new talent representing the best of today's Norwegian jazz. On the Nasjonal Jazzscene: Mathias Eick, 37, band leader, trumpeter and multi-instrumentalist, whose compositions are inspired by North American jazz. Trygve Seim, 45, saxophonist and composer, who notably joined Manu Katché's ensemble in 2007. His influences include Jan Garbarek and Dexter Gordon. Jon Balke, 55, pianist, known for having been one of the leaders of the Oslo 13 big band in the eighties, as well as the Magnetic North Orchestra. Gard Nilssen, 33, drummer, a member of the Acoustic Unity trio. And Ellen Andreas Wang, 29, the youngest member of the group, a double-bass player and singer, and a member of experimental jazz ensemble Pixel, founded in 2011. Recorded on 19 August 2016 at Nasjonal Jazzscene Victoria, Oslo (Oslo Jazz Festival); TV Director, by Jean-François Hugel (60 min)